2021 - 2022 Section Council

Governing Council

Joseph McLeod | Minnesota Attorney Generals Office

Colleen Case | Capistrant Van Loh PA

Colin Hargreaves | Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart PC | Treasurer & NLLC Co-Chair

Anna Barton | Maslon LLP | Secretary & NLLC Co-Chair

Past Chair
Kyle Willems | Bassford Remele

Kyle Kroll | Winthrop & Weinstine PA | ABA House of Delegates Section Representative
Jose Castro | Spencer Fane (Denver) | ABA YLD District 17 Rep
Hannah Anderson | Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP | Publications Committee Co-Chair
Jessica Dulz | Messerli | Kramer | Publications Committee Co-Chair
Caroline Bressman | Nichols Kaster PLLP | Publications Committee
Deanna Cortney | Sieben Edmunds Miller PLLC | Publications Committee
Sarah Soucie Eyberg | Soucie Eyberg Law, LLC | CLE Committee Co-Chair
John Meyer | Guaranty Commercial Title Inc | CLE Committee Co-Chair
Michelle Gibbons | Baillon Thome Jozwiak & Wanta LLP | CLE Committee Member
Kojo Addo | Schwebel Goetz & Sieben PA | Networking & Engagement Committee
Anneliese McCahery | Eckberg Lammers, P.C. (Stillwater) | Networking & Engagement Committee
Brooke Hein | Networking & Engagement Committee
Molly Hough | Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Co-Chair
Demetria Dyer | Sapientia Law Group PLLC | Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Co-Chair
Nicole Schladt | Nichols Kaster PLLP | Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
Briana Al Taqatqa | Dorsey & Whitney LLP (Minneapolis) | Diversity, Equity & Inclusion & Law School Committee
Hannah Scheidecker | Outreach Committee Chair
Katie McLaughlin | Outreach Committee Member
Mason Schraufnagel | Tenth Judicial District (Anoka County) | Community Service
Lisa Neary | New England School of Law | Community Service
Hudson Peters | Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP | Law School Engagement Committee
Hannah McCallum | Law School Engagement Committee

Committee Descriptions

Awards Committee:

The Awards Committee oversees the submission of nominations and selection of the recipient of the Outstanding New Lawyer of the Year Award. More information about the award can be found here.

Publications Committee:

The Publications Committee cultivates interest from New Lawyers Section Members to write an article for each Bench & Bar Issue. Topics can be varied, but the article must come from the perspective of a New Lawyer and present relevant information for lawyers who have been practicing for less than 6 years or who are younger than 36. This is a great opportunity for both Committee members and its featured writers to gain more exposure to the broader MSBA community.

CLE Committee:

The CLE Committee organizes the CLE programming held each month before the Section’s monthly meeting by choosing topics, securing presenters and securing approval of the CLE credits. Historically, the NLS has held a one-hour CLE prior to each month’s meetings from September through May. These CLEs are free to NLS members. In the past, the NLS has tried to provide at least one Ethics or Elimination of Bias CLE per year since those credits can be hard to come by for attorneys.

Networking & Engagement (Social) Committee:

The Social Committee organizes the networking events for the NLS throughout the year. The committee coordinates dates with the other new lawyer sections of the Ramsey County Bar Association and Hennepin County Bar Association to host events sponsored or co-sponsored by the NLS. The committee also works to secure sponsorships from vendors to host such events.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee:

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee works to promote diversity within the NLS and the legal profession. The committee determines what avenues are appropriate to take each year to accomplish this mission.

Community Service Committee:

The Community Service Committee organizes various volunteer events throughout the year as an opportunity for the NLS to give back to the community. The events can be scheduled for specific days, and/or time periods, or can even be ongoing charity drives. Once an event is organized, the committee will solicit volunteers from the NLS members to participate in the event.

Law School Engagement Committee:

This Committee oversees the engagement of law students within the New Lawyers Section and assists the greater MSBA membership with engaging with all three local law schools.

New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee:

The New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee oversees the organization and execution of the New Lawyers Leadership Conference. The committee works to secure a venue, plan the content and refine the details and logistics of the conference, and secure sponsorships from vendors to host the event. 

Outreach Committee:

The Outreach Committee is in charge of disseminating news about the NLS, its programming, and events to its members through the various forms of social media, such as Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.

MSBA Section Manager
Sarah Grundhoefer
(612) 278-6307