2020 - 2021 Section Council

Governing Council

Wayne Anderson | Ramsey County Property Records & Revenue

Daniel Maddy | Fryberger Buchanan Smith & Frederick PA (Duluth)


Nancy Landmark | Commercial Partners Title LLC

Past Chair
Robert Bigwood | Pemberton Law (Fergus Falls) | Past-Chair

Christine Eid | Stinson LLP (Minneapolis) | Diversity & Outreach Committee Co-Chair
Paul Fahning | Hennepin County Examiner of Titles Office | Residential Real Estate Committee Chair
Karen Bjorkman | Maslon LLP | Certification Committee Chair
Lindsay Case | Moss & Barnett PA | Communications Committee Chair
Kevin Dunlevy | Beisel & Dunlevy PA | Legislative Co-Chair
Jennifer Carey | Hanft Fride PA | Member and Legislative Co-Chair
Angela Christy | Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP | Real Estate Insitute Committee Co-Chair
Alicia Cope | Cope & Peterson Ltd | District E Member
John Melchert | Melchert Hubert Sjodin PLLP (Waconia) | District C Member
David Pritchett | Fryberger Buchanan Smith & Frederick PA (Cloquet) | District D Member
Bradley Schmidt | Johnson Moody Schmidt & Kleinhuizen PA | District H Member and Nominating Committee Chair
Thomas Sellnow | Sellnow Law Office PA | Real Estate Insitute Committee Co-Chair
Andrew Shaw | Law Office of Shaw & Shaw PA | District E Member
Robert Goode | District H Member
Scott Johnston | District F Member
Robert Russell | Robert L Russell Law Office | Title Standards Committee Co-Chair
Marty Helle | Hoversten Johnson Beckmann and Hovey LLP | District G Member
Daniel Eaton | Christensen Law Office PLLC | Diversity & Outreach Committee Co-Chair
Sachin Darji | US Bancorp | Disctict A Member & MSBA Diversity Representative
Todd Ahlquist | Certification Committee Vice-Chair
Susan Dege | District F Member
John Koneck | Fredrikson & Byron PA (Minneapolis) | Pro Bono Committee Chair
Thomas Bray | Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP (Minneapolis) | MCIOA Committee Chair
Kimberly Brzezinski | District D Member
Scott Lucas | LeVander Gillen & Miller PA | District A Member
Alison Schubring | Hennepin County Examiner of Titles Office | Title Standards Committee Co-Chair
Thomas Radio | Felhaber Larson (Minneapolis) | Certification Chair
Stacy Woods | Jensen Sondrall Persellin & Woods PA | District A Member
Tammy Schemmel | Barna Guzy & Steffen Ltd | District C Member
Nchangnyuy Fondungallah | District B Member
Daniel Ziebell | District G Member
Perrie Heitler | District B Member
Melinda Dugas | Stinson LLP (Minneapolis) | MSBA New Lawyers Section Liaison

Section Committees

The Section works primarily through ongoing committees reporting to its governing council

The Title Standards Committee has promulgated and continues to update and enhance Minnesota Title Standards and White Pages, a comprehensive code of standards to guide attorneys examining real estate titles and documenting real property transfers. This continually evolving publication is widely regarded as “the authority” for title examinations in Minnesota. The Minnesota Title Standards are now published electronically (online only.) Visit the Title Standards page here for more information. 

The Legislative Committee develops, proposes, and monitors legislation affecting real estate and real estate transactions. It often focuses on otherwise overlooked aspects relating to mechanical and procedural problems encountered by those who must comply with legislative policies.

The Certification Board is the body which developed and administers the standards and system by which qualified applicants can become designated as Real Property Law Specialists. It develops and administers biannual tests, monitors periodic recertification, and is about to engage in a program of publicly promoting the existence and identity of such specialists.

The Residential Real Estate Committee deals with matters which facilitate the role of lawyers in residential real estate transactions and which provide the public with information pertinent to such transactions. It develops and publishes residential real estate forms available to practitioners and to the public.

The Diversity and Outreach Committee has forged an ongoing and evolving dialogue among 15 to 20 organizations active in the real estate industry. The object is to enhance their respective understandings of the others’ functions, concerns, and goals, and to cooperate in their respective endeavors when feasible.

The Real Estate Institute Committee plans the content and scheduling of the Annual Real Estate Institute. The Institute is sponsored by the Section along with Minnesota CLE. The 2014 Institute was attended by over 1,250 lawyers. The Institute will be held in October this year.

The Multidisciplinary Committee investigates and reports to the Real Property Law Section Council on the evolving issues surrounding multidisciplinary practice for lawyers and other professionals. The Committee’s work has been reduced because of the 2002 decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court in rejecting proposed rules governing multidisciplinary practice. Committee chair, Jeff Johnson, continues to monitor multidisciplinary practice in other states and reports periodically to the Council.

The M.C.I.O.A. Committee advises the Council and proposes legislation affecting Minnesota Common Interest Ownership Act, Minn. Stat. Chapter 515B. This committee was first organized in the early 1990's to assist the legislature in drafting the Minnesota version of the Uniform Common Interest Ownership Act. The committee is reconstituted from time to time deal with changes necessary for the evolution of Chapter 515B. The committee has been active again since 2007.

The Distinguished Service Award Committee reviews nominations for the Section’s annual Distinguished Service Award and recommends recipients to the Council.

The Communications Committee manages most Section communications. That includes the Section Newsletter, periodic e-mail to the Section membership, and content of the Section’s pages on the MSBA web site.

The Examiner of Titles Association Liaison Committee was formed on January 28, 2006, by the Council to explore a closer association between the Real Property Law Section and the Examiner of Titles Association.

Other Programs and Services are also pursued on an ad hoc basis. There has been a periodical newsletter, a list of qualified ADR real estate neutrals has been made available to the public at the MSBA offices, and the Section has explored other projects.


Staff Liaison

MSBA Section Manager
Abby Ward