Excellence Awards


In 2017, the Hennepin County Bar Association announced its new Excellence Awards program to honor individual members for contributions to the profession and the community. The Excellence Awards replace the association's previous awards programs.

Past recipients



Up to 12 awards may be given per bar year. Individual HCBA members may be nominated for recognition in one or more of the following categories. 

  • Advancing Diversity and Inclusion
  • Improving Access to Justice
  • Providing Pro Bono Service
  • Mentoring in the Profession
  • Advancing Innovation in the Profession
  • Serving the Association / Foundation 

All HCBA members (other than current members of the Awards Committee and the Executive Committee) are eligible to receive awards. No HCBA member may receive an HCBA Excellence Award in a category if the member has previously received an HCBA Excellence Award in the same category within the past 3 years. HCBA members from any level of experience may be nominated for an award, and nominators are encouraged to nominate New Lawyers Section members for recognition.

An additional award for Career Contributions to the Profession may be given each year by the HCBA Executive CommitteeSelection will be in the sole discretion of the Executive Committee and will recognize a member’s outstanding career contributions. To recommend an individual for this honor, please contact HCBA Governance Coordinator Ariana Guerra.

Although nominators are encouraged to identify the ways in which nominees excel in one or more categories, the Awards Committee will determine the individual category for which each award recipient will be recognized. Awards may not be given in every category each year, and there is no minimum number of award recipients in each year.  The Award Committee’s final recommendations regarding award recipients shall be approved by the Executive Committee.

Nomination Form

Nominations for 2022 awards will be accepted through January 31, 2022.
Submit nomination.

Staff Contact

Andrew Olson

Executive Assistant
Members: Sign up for new Tri-Bar CLE Planning Group
Nov 16, 2021
Full story
YWCA Equity Challenge and Bar Association DEI Discussions
Jun 10, 2021
Full story
Statement from MSBA, HCBA, and RCBA Presidents on State vs. Derek Chauvin decision
Apr 22, 2021
Full story