2020 - 2021 Section Council

Governing Council

Kyle Willems | Bassford Remele

Joseph McLeod | Minnesota Attorney General's Office

Colleen Case | Hennepin County Family Court | Treasurer & NLLC Co-Chair

Colin Hargreaves | Secretary & NLLC Co-Chair

Past Chair
Blair Harrington | Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP (Minneapolis)

Chloe Sershon | Medtronic Inc (Medtronic Pky) | ABA YLD District 17 Rep
Christopher Siebenaler | Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Co (Minneapolis) | ABA House of Delegates Section Representative
Aaron Brown | Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP (Minneapolis) | Publications Committee Co-Chair
O. Balthazor | Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP (Minneapolis) | Publications Committee Co-Chair
Hannah Anderson | Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP (Faegre Drinker) | Publications Committee Co-Chair
Jessica Dulz | Publications Committee Co-Chair
Sarah Soucie Eyberg | CLE Committee Co-Chair
John Meyer | Morris Law Group PA | CLE Committee Co-Chair
Bethany Rubis | CLE Committee
Jennifer Richardson | Networking & Engagement Committee Co-Chair
Anna Barton | Maslon LLP | Networking & Engagement Committee Co-Chair
Kojo Addo | Schwebel Goetz & Sieben PA | Networking & Engagement Committee Co-Chair
Kyle Kroll | Winthrop & Weinstine PA | Networking & Engagement Committee
Molly Hough | Bassford Remele | Diversity Committee Co-Chair
Edgar Ocampo | Fredrikson & Byron PA (Minneapolis) | Diversity Committee Co-Chair
Nicole Schladt | Diversity Committee
Demetria Dyer | Diversity Committee
Samantha Alsadi | Erstad & Riemer PA | Diversity and Outreach Committee
Laura Farley | Nichols Kaster PLLP | Community Service Committee Co-Chair
Seth Zawila | Robins Kaplan LLP (Minneapolis) | Community Service Committee Co-Chair
Allison Mitchell | Community Service Committee
Hugh Fleming | Law Student Engagement Committee Chair
Benjamin Bauer | Nichols Kaster PLLP | Law Student Engagement and Outreach Committee
Jacob Petersen | Mitchell Hamline School of Law | Law Student Engagement Committee
Harpreet Mahal | Law Student Engagement Committee
Timothy Garvey | Law School Engagement Committee
Tara Baker | Law School Engagement Committee
Shannon Eckman | Law School Engagement Committee
Michael Pfau | Law School Engagement Committee
Deena Duffy | Spencer Fane (Minneapolis)

Committee Descriptions

Awards Committee:

The Awards Committee oversees the submission of nominations and selection of the recipient of the Outstanding New Lawyer of the Year Award. More information about the award can be found here.

Publications Committee:

The Publications Committee cultivates interest from New Lawyers Section Members to write an article for each Bench & Bar Issue. Topics can be varied, but the article must come from the perspective of a New Lawyer and present relevant information for lawyers who have been practicing for less than 6 years or who are younger than 36. This is a great opportunity for both Committee members and its featured writers to gain more exposure to the broader MSBA community.

CLE Committee:

The CLE Committee organizes the CLE programming held each month before the Section’s monthly meeting by choosing topics, securing presenters and securing approval of the CLE credits. Historically, the NLS has held a one-hour CLE prior to each month’s meetings from September through May. These CLEs are free to NLS members. In the past, the NLS has tried to provide at least one Ethics or Elimination of Bias CLE per year since those credits can be hard to come by for attorneys.

Networking & Engagement (Social) Committee:

The Social Committee organizes the networking events for the NLS throughout the year. The committee coordinates dates with the other new lawyer sections of the Ramsey County Bar Association and Hennepin County Bar Association to host events sponsored or co-sponsored by the NLS. The committee also works to secure sponsorships from vendors to host such events.

Diversity Committee:

The Diversity Committee works to promote diversity within the NLS and the legal profession. The committee determines what avenues are appropriate to take each year to accomplish this mission.

Community Service Committee:

The Community Service Committee organizes various volunteer events throughout the year as an opportunity for the NLS to give back to the community. The events can be scheduled for specific days, and/or time periods, or can even be ongoing charity drives. Once an event is organized, the committee will solicit volunteers from the NLS members to participate in the event.

Law School Engagement Committee:

This Committee oversees the engagement of law students within the New Lawyers Section and assists the greater MSBA membership with engaging with all three local law schools.

New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee:

The New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee oversees the organization and execution of the New Lawyers Leadership Conference. The committee works to secure a venue, plan the content and refine the details and logistics of the conference, and secure sponsorships from vendors to host the event. 

Outreach Committee:

The Outreach Committee is in charge of disseminating news about the NLS, its programming, and events to its members through the various forms of social media, such as Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.

MSBA Section Manager
Abby Ward