Outstanding New Lawyer of the Year Award

The New Lawyers Section is proud to announce Kyle Kroll as the 2019-20 Outstanding New Lawyer of the Year Award recipient. 

 Kroll Photo

Each year, the New Lawyers Section presents the Outstanding New Lawyer of the Year Award to a promising new attorney. All licensed attorneys are eligible to submit a nomination.  To be eligible, a nominee must be a licensed attorney under 36 years of age or in practice less than 6 years who has shown outstanding dedication to the Minnesota State Bar Association or a local bar affiliate.  Consideration will also be given to the nominee’s pro bono work, community service, contributions to diversity, and professional achievement.  

Kyle is perhaps best described as a jack of all trades. He is an Associate with Winthrop & Weinstine, where his complex commercial litigation experience includes class action, antitrust and unfair competition, false advertising, intellectual property, and utilities matters. Kyle's colleagues know him to be a consummate professional, passionate advocate, and a skilled writer and oralist. In addition to Kyle's for-profit work, he is heavily involved in Winthrop & Weinstine's pro bono efforts; his most recent cases have involved First Amendment rights and disability discrimination. 

Kyle served as the co-chair of the Social Committee of the MSBA New Lawyers section for the 2019-20 bar year. He also attended this year's ABA Mid-year Meeting as an ambassador for the section. Additionally, Kyle is an active member of the Minnesota bar, such as in the Appellate Practice, Civil Litigation, and Public Utilities sections. Even with these roles, Kyle finds time to serve as the co-chair of the FBA Newer Lawyers committee, regularly participates in HCBA events, and is co-chair of the HCBA's Wine Club. In these involvements, Kyle has led and co-led teams to orchestrate events ranging from luncheons with judges, to a CLE on social media ethics, to social events for new lawyers. Outside of bar activities, Kyle has been appointed to serve terms on the City of Minneapolis's Ethical Practices Board and University of Minnesota's Student Legal Service's Board of Directors. Despite such a long list of obligations, Kyle also manages to find time to mentor others and serve as an Adjunct Legal Research and Writing Professor, and Fundraiser, for the University of Minnesota Law School. 
The MSBA New Lawyers Section is grateful for the numerous and meaningful contributions Kyle Kroll has made to the Section and the greater Minnesota legal community.


2013-14: Adine Momoh
2014-15: Irene Kao
2015-16: Michael Boulette
2016-17: Landon Ascheman
2017-18: Erica Holzer
2018-19: Sarah Soucie Eyberg
2019-20: Kyle Kroll