Annual Report

MSBA Antitrust Section
2016 - 2017

Section Membership
As of June 13, 2017, the Section has 165 members.

Financial Status
The Section had an account balance of $6,355.29 as of May 31, 2017.

CLEs & Events
The Section hosted 5 CLE programs/socials in fiscal year 2016-17.  

Program Title


Event Code

CLE Credits

Number of Attendees

When It Isn’t Fixed or Predatory: How Businesses Determine Prices

September 28, 2016


1.5 Standard


Antitrust Basics for In-House Counsel Seminar & Social (co-sponsored with Corporate Counsel Section)

December 7, 2016


1.5 Standard


A Pricing/Promotion Potpourri - Recent Developments in Resale Price Maintenance and Robinson-Patman

February 28, 2017


1.0 Standard


Sports Antitrust: The Rules Off the Field are Changing

April 20, 2017


1.0 Standard


Product Distribution in Canada: What You Need To Know and Annual Section Meeting

May 11, 2017


1.0 Standard


Annual Meeting and Election Results

The Section’s Annual Meeting was held on May 11, 2017. 

The following Officers and Council Members were elected to serve on the Section’s Governing Council:

The term of office shall be one (1) year, beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2018. 

Chair:  Emily Chow, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
Vice Chair:  Jaime Stilson, Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Secretary:  Jim Long, Briggs and Morgan
Treasurer:  Matthew Piehl, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
Immediate Past Chair:  Craig Davis, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP

Council Members:
The Section Council shall consist of all of the Section officers, Emeritus members, and not less than three (3) nor more than twenty (20) additional members of the Section.  The term of office shall be one (1) year, beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2018.

Brian Clark, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP
June Hoidal, Zimmerman Reed, LLP
Erin Hutchinson, Rock Hutchinson, PLLP
Mark Jacobson, Lindquist & Vennum LLP 
Geoffrey Kozen, Robins Kaplan LLP 
Bethany Krueger, Greene Espel PLLP
Michael Lindsay, Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Michele Looby, Gustafson Gluek PLLC
Kevin Magnuson, Kelley Wolter & Scott PA
Ryan Marth, Robins Kaplan LLP
Joseph Meyer
Brant Penney, Reinhardt Wendorf & Blanchfield
Joshua Rissman, Gustafson Gluek PLLC
David Ernst, 3M
Jana Gaffaney, General Mills
Anna Horning Nygren, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP
James Nichols, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Emeritus Members:
Emeritus Council members shall be Council members who have completed a distinguished term on the Council including serving as a Chairperson and completing their term(s) as Immediate Past Chairperson.  Emeritus Council members serve for an indefinite period and need not stand for reelection to remain Emeritus Council members.

  • Joseph Bruckner, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP (2009-2010 Chair)
  • Craig Coleman, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP (2010-2011 Chair)
  • Richard Duncan, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP (2007-2008 Chair)
  • Daniel Hedlund, Gustafson Gluek PLLC (2015-2016 Chair)
  • Peggy Kubicz Hall, Greene Espel PLLP (2013-2014 Chair)
  • F. Matt Ralph, Dorsey & Whitney LLP (2012-2013 Chair)
  • Heidi Silton, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP (2014-2015 Chair)

Diversity and Inclusion 

Initiatives: New Lawyers Section Liaison – Kaitlyn Dennis

Other Section Accomplishments

Co-sponsored a program and social event with the Corporate Counsel Section 
Recruited a national speaker for the April CLE program

Submitted By:
Craig Davis, Section Chair
Date: 6/26/17