MSBAInsure JAMS-Symchych-460x90

About MSBA



The Council serves as the board of directors of the Minnesota State Bar Association. In that role, the Council implements the policies of the Assembly and oversees management of the MSBA.  

The Council is comprised of 16 members and determined as follows:

  • 4 MSBA Officers (President, President-Elect, Treasurer and Secretary)
  • 2 representatives of the Hennepin County Bar Association
  • 1 representative of the Ramsey County Bar Association
  • 2 representatives from the outstate affiliated bar associations (one from districts 1, 8, 18, 19 & 21 and one from districts 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, & 20)
  • 3 representatives from the Assembly
  • 1 representative from the New Lawyers Section
  • 1 representative from Minnesota Women Lawyers
  • 2 representatives from the minority bar associations
The agenda for Council meetings is set by the President. Any items that should be considered by the agenda should be submitted to the MSBA staff at least three weeks prior to the Council meeting.

2018-19 Council Members

Paul W. Godfrey, President
Tom Nelson, President-Elect
Dyan Ebert, Treasurer
Jennifer A. Thompson, Secretary
Michael Boulette, HCBA Representative
Bryan Browning, Minority Bar Representative
Charles Clippert, RCBA Representative
Samuel Edmunds, Outstate Representative
Bob Enger, Assembly Representative
Sarah Soucie Eyberg, Assembly Representative
Paul Floyd, HCBA Representative
Eric Larson, Assembly Representative
Sumbal Mahmud, Minority Bar Representative
Ryan McCarthy, New Lawyers Section Chair
Steve Messick, Outstate Representative
TBD, Minnesota Women Lawyers Representative