MSBA homepageComputer and Technology Law section
MSBA home pageMSBA sectionsUpcoming section
Back to homepage
Meeting notices
Section's Blog
Previous CLEs
Caselaw summaries
Practice Links
Annual Report
Join us


Annual Reports
Annual Report Archives

MSBA Computer & Technology Law Section
Annual Report

Section Membership
As of June 17, 2013, the Computer & Technology Law Section has 229 members. 

Financial Status
The Computer & Technology Law Section had an account balance of $4,077.63 as of April 30, 2013. 

Continuing Legal Education Programs
The Section hosted ten CLE programs in fiscal year 2012-13. 

Program Date

Program Title

CLE Event Code and Credit

# of Attendees


Are Your AIA Ducks in a Row?

172020; 1.0 Standard


 (co-sponsored with SSF)

Texts, Lies and Backup Tapes: What You Must Know about E-Discovery to Prove Your Case and Avoid Big Mistakes

172369; 1.5 Standard



Protecting Your Trademarks in the Domain Big Bang | Materials

1726280; 1.0 Standard



Induced Infringement Sea Change? The Akamai/McKesson en banc Decision

174012; 1.0 Standard



After the Breach: Top 10 Security Problems Revealed

175306; 1.0 Standard



Click-Wrap Unconscionability?

176055; 1.0 Standard



Digital First Sale: Can You Sell or Give Away Your Downloaded Music, Books, and Movies? (Should you be able to?)

177020; 1.0 Standard


(c0-sponsored with IBLS)

Visiting Russian Law Firm to Present an Update on Intellectual Property and Business in Russia

177631; 1.0 Standard


(co-sponsored with Communications Law)

Hey, Somebody is Using My Trademark as a Twitter Handle!! -- Strategies and Tactics for Safeguarding Intellectual Property Across Social Media Networks

77416; 1.0 Standard



Encoding Privacy: Does the FTC Think Code Can Be Law?"

179079; 1.0 Standard


Annual Meeting and Election Results
The Section’s annual meeting and elections were held on May 14, 2013 at the offices of Dorsey & Whitney LLP in Minneapolis, MN.  The following individuals were elected to serve as officers of the Section in 2013-14:

  • Chair:  Jamie Nafziger
  • Vice Chair:  Alycia Kirkevold
  • Treasurer:  Joshua W. Carlson
  • Secretary:  Charles Steffel

Todd Schenk will serve as Immediate Past Chair.

The following individuals were elected to serve on the Section Council in 2013-14:

Katheryn A. Andresen

Sean L. Harrington

Thomas R. Sheran

Miguel J. Azar

Charles A. Johnson

Bridget A. Sullivan

James A. Blomquist

Mark D. Lindquist

John A. Taft

Charles P. Brink

Allen J. Oh

Daniel A. Tysver

Stephen W. Buckingham

Patrick J. Pazderka

David R. Warner, Jr.

John J. Carney

Damien A. Riehl

Heather A. Yunke

Michael R. Cohen

Carolyn M. Sandberg


James C. Evans

John D. Schrager


Jonathon L. Farnsworth

Jonathan T. Selleys


The following individuals will serve as MSBA Assembly representative and alternate in 2013-14:

  • Jamie Nafziger – Representative
  • Alycia Kirkevold - Alternate

Other Section Accomplishments

Law School Outreach
In addition to the Section’s monthly CLE programs, the Section held networking luncheons at each of the local law schools.  These events were an excellent opportunity for law students to meet members of the Section and for Section members to share their professional experiences with the students.  The events were well attended at each school.

Section Blog
The Section also continues to blog about updates in computer, technology and privacy law.  You can review the Section’s blog by visiting:

Section Facebook Page
The Section launched a Facebook page in 2012 to keep members informed of upcoming events and items of interest.  Like us at:!/pages/MSBA-Computer-and-Technology-Law-Section/197815843562793.

Annual Computer & Technology Law Institute (CTLI)
The Section co-sponsored the annual Computer & Technology Law Institute with Minnesota CLE on October 25, 2012 at the Minnesota CLE Conference Center in Minneapolis. The event was well attended with 116 attendees. 6.0 CLE credits were approved; and the event code is 172122.

Submitted By:
Todd Schenk, Section Chair

- Last Updated 06/18/13 -